intra_process_demo --> select timeout

I’m new to ROS and definitely to ROS 2. Looking to use ROS in a new robotics product under development. I really like ROS 2 but have been struggling with video stuff for a couple of days.

Sorry if I’m posting this in the wrong place. Let me know the right place if this is wrong.

Dev environment is a VM under OS/X (10.13.6 on MacBook pro.) VM is running Ubuntu Bionic. I was running the VM under parallels 14, but ran into the issue that parallels STILL only supports openGL 1.2 --> so it might be good to warn folks that parallels is no good for ROS 2 development efforts. This meant that the viz2 stuff won’t work since it requires 3.2+. I did run the video “intra_process” demos under parallel’s no problem (other than being laggy.)

Purchased, downloaded and then rebuilt the world under VMware Fusion (11.0) Was able to run rviz2 – yea, but when I went back to re-test lag of intra_process I get a series of “select time” messages on the console. Eventually, a single image is display. I see my camera LED come on right away. Anyone else see this issue? Is it strictly related to “intra process” comms or something else?

A message like “select timeout” to mean invokes some kind of network issue, but I’m not sure what it could be. I tried fiddling with the network setup (NAT/Bridged/various configs) and I tested that network is good and that multicast is enabled on all interfaces. Still no joy.

This kind of thing is best asked on answers.ros.org, see: https://wiki.ros.org/Support#When_something_fails