ROS 2 release-specific documentation

We ran into an interesting issue recently with ROS 2 documentation that we wanted to discuss. Logging a bug against the docs didn’t feel like the right place.

We started students working in Dashing since it’s the LTS release and because they were working with hardware that’s only supported up to Dashing. However, they were unable to complete beginner tutorials like ROS 2 Topics and ROS 2 Services. There were a number of commands (e.g. ros2 interface) that failed in Dashing since they were introduced with Eloquent. It ended up being a somewhat off-putting first exposure to ROS.

We’ve all seen the data that shows that more users use the LTS than just the latest release; we see the same trend in Ubuntu, and it shouldn’t be surprising to any of us. Therefore, the first point we want to discuss is if it would be worthwhile to, at least in the short term, keep the documentation reflecting the LTS (where most users are) as opposed to just whatever the latest release happens to be.

The second point we want to discuss is the long-term path toward having documentation specific to each release instead of just one. For example, we appreciated how each ROS 1 tutorial had the ability to switch between releases and build tools (if necessary). Is the plan for the ROS 2 documentation to go that direction? Or, since it’s all in git, is the plan to maintain a separate branch of documentation for each release and expose them separately on the index?

2 Likes

Atm the documentation of different distributions needs to be handled on the content-level:

• either create separate pages for different distros
  • or annotate the content on a page to be specific to certain distros, available as of, etc.

The current infrastructure doesn’t offer a way to utilize separate branches and updating the part of index.ros.org to do so would be “challenging” to say the least.