Begin contributing to open source for beginners

Hello everyone!
I am a ROS beginner. I have a basic understanding of Publishers, Subscribers, Services, Transforms, Gazebo and Rviz. I want to increase my skillset. I can not apply for an internship because I need more experience. Hence, I want to start contributing to open source projects. How do I begin?

3 Likes

Hi, it’s great you’re thinking about contributing!

The starting point should be https://www.ros.org/contribute/ , but I’d say it’s not much helping.

At least in moveit, they try to guide beginners to issues that should be easily crackable, e.g. https://github.com/ros-planning/moveit/issues?q=is%3Aopen+is%3Aissue+label%3A"simple+improvements" . You can try searching other ROS repos for similar tags like first-timer-only. Another thing to try is https://github.com/search?q=hacktoberfest+ros .

The core ROS repos (e.g. ros/ros_comm) do not have such tags, but they also usually require deep understanding of the concepts, thus they’re probably not such a good place for new contributors.

There might be some easier or convenience stuff in repos like https://github.com/ros/geometry2 . But generally, I’d advise you to pick a few parts of ROS that are of special interest to you (e.g. because of your target application) and look at the related issues. The best motivation is to work on things that are blocking your development :slight_smile:

And beware that most ROS repos’ contribution guidelines require you to first send the contribution to the latest branch of development (which is usually called noetic-devel or so), and once it is accepted there, it can be backported to older distros. So, doing your contributions on ROS Noetic is the safest option (or, in case of ROS 2, ROS 2 Foxy or Rolling).

1 Like