Internship at Open Robotics - Spring/Summer 2021

Join our team in developing open source software for robots!

We are seeking motivated, friendly, collaborative individuals with excellent software skills and an interest in robotics.

All internships will be remote work. You can find more information and a link to submit your application here!

The application deadline is January 24th.

11 Likes

Are there any internship programs in OSRF for students living outside the US?

1 Like

Sit tight, Google Summer of Code (GSoC) announcements will come out soon. GSoC is open to all students world-wide. The website lists the key program dates.

1 Like

Good news, I just spoke to HR, we’re going to try and open up the program to all students. I would plan to apply to both programs (we get a lot of applications). Remember that persistence pays off; we certainly get more qualified students than we have mentors.

4 Likes

Sir, I have a look at the internship announcements. I am relatively new to ROS but I have experience with it and all the mentioned nice to have features but what I am curious about is what is expected from interns exactly? I am relatively new so I don’t want to apply for an internship that I have not qualified for.

1 Like

Well, first, I wouldn’t assume we’re all sirs. :wink:

Due to time constraints we don’t publish every potential intern project. We’ll try to match up student abilities and interests with projects we wish to complete. I have two bits of advice I give to all my students:

1. Apply to everything that interests you; let the mentors/hiring manager judge if you are “qualified”. Early on in your career I don’t think it is wise to censor yourself based on your own beliefs about a project. Sometimes interest, determination, and aptitude are more important than qualifications.