Introduction and Ouster_Driver feature

Hello everyone,

my name is Andreas Lebherz and I’m a master student in ‘Information and Computer Engineering’ at the University of Technology Graz / Austria. My master program is heavily influenced by the topics ‘Automated Driving’, ‘Robotics’ and ‘Embedded Systems’.

In order to finish my studies I need to write a project thesis (before master thesis) and my advisor and I agreed on the implementation of a Ouster OS1 driver for the Autoware stack similar to the Velodyne VLP-16 driver. At the institute I have access to the newest generation of this sensor.

This project should be able to establish a connection the Ouster OS1 sensor and configure it according to given parameters (via .param.yaml file). The conversion functionality is similar to the Velodyne sensor but of course with different packet format and rate.

The current project state is that I have a functioning driver which is able to configure the sensor and convert the Udp data stream into a PointCloud, which can then be visualized in rviz2.

I started working on this topic in early March this year and kind of messed up introducing myself before even starting to work at the project. I already got a lot of help form the Autoware contributers and want to thank everyone that was helping out so far.

My main goal would be to release the driver for the Autoware stack and I welcome any advise in helping me to do so.

Best regards,
Andreas Lebherz

1 Like

How would yours vary from something, for instance, like these?

2 Likes

I’d like to point out that we don’t want more drivers in Autoware, and we are actively trying to reduce how many drivers we have. We’d prefer drivers to be put somewhere upstream (e.g. the ros-drivers repository, or your own repository if you can maintain and release it) for us to use like any other member of the ROS community.

2 Likes