Releasing GStreamer

Dear ROS maintainers,
I’ve used and adapted Mike ferguson’s package for my “kinetic+GStreamer1.0+python2.7+GTK3.0” mix in order to soon drive by voice a Turtlebot3.
I’m rather new to ROS and never added a package, so my question is probably one of a “noob”.
Would it be a good idea to add my version of Mike ferguson’s package to kinetic ?
If you think it is worth it, could you just send me a few pointers to the good docs ?
Many thanks for all the job (huge) done, it is a pleasure to work with ROS.
Sincerely, Pierre Bomel

I moved this to it’s own topic instead of discussing this as a reply to the about page.

You’re not clear about what package you’re actually talking about so it’s hard to give you much answers. Mike Ferguson has released a lot of packages.

In general if you’ve extended support for a package the best thing to do is to open a pull request to improve the package with the uptream development process and let the existing maintainer(s) continue to release the package. If the upstream maintainers are not interested in continuing to maintain or support it then there’s a process by which you can adopt a package for maintenance. But to do that you should be ready to pick up the mantle of maintainership which is not something that we recommend for new community members. It’s both a large commitment as well as requires becoming familiar with more of the release pipeline.

Thank you very much for your quick answer.

I was talking about the ROS pocketsphinx package written by Mike Ferguson.
It has been initialy written for:

• Xenial Ubuntu 16.04
  • ROS kinetic
  • GStreamer0.10 and pygst0.10
  • pocketsphinx plugin for GSrreamer0.10
  • python 2.7
    and GTK/GObject (I don’t know what version)

Unfortunately, I have not been able to use it “as is” because some dependant sw have evolved:

• python 2.7 -> 3++
  • GStreamer0.10 -> GStreamer1.0 (and also its pygst companion python module), for python3