Reputable places to purchase robotics equipment

Hello,

I am relatively new to ROS and I’m trying to find reputable places to purchase robotics kits, equipment, parts and tools. At low end of the spectrum under $200 it easy to find reputable sellers, higher priced items are filled with shady vendors with poor documentation who aren’t willing to provide information regarding the hardware they are selling.

Where can I purchase robotics hardware that comes with relatively accurate documentation and schematics. I’ve done research on several places (I’d rather take the high road and not name them) that have zero documentation or documentation that is completely inaccurate. They won’t provide schematics and finding parts for repairing the hardware when it breaks is nearly impossible. I’m not looking for perfection and I’m willing to figure out most things myself but a lot of the hardware I’m running into simply does not work.

1 Like

I have out grown what I can get through Amazon, and now I am trying some new larger motor control parts from DFRobot.com.

Turtlebot 3 Burger robot, TurtleBot 3 Burger [US] - ROBOTIS, is a great way to get into robotics and ROS. Great documentation.

Not sure of the size, type, and price range you seek, but I have found Servo City, https://www.servocity.com/. to stand behind their kits and parts. They have always answered my emails and phone calls, as well as provided good advice and parts suggestions.

I’ve had good luck purchasing through Robot Shop and Pololu. Pololu has always provided detailed explanations and help with their hardware. Pololu forums are answered by employees and users.