ROS Metrics

As a programmer, I think there’s something inherently pleasing about collecting and organizing data. Even more so when you can do it automatically. In that vein, let me introduce my latest nights-and-weekends side project: metrics.ros.org

The idea partially stemmed from this Discourse thread and my previous project ROS Answered. The core is to supercharge the standard Metrics report and graph trends over time.

Some observations:

Anyway, thanks to Tully for granting me access to the Discourse and Google Analytics APIs. I still want to get my hands on the underlying wiki data and the raw logs from http://packages.ros.org (hit me up OSU OSL). There’s lots more that can be gleaned from this data. The graphs I’ve made just scratch the surface. I look forward to using the data to help us understand and improve the ROS community/ecosystem.

Github Repo
related tweets

Send me a message if you want access to the aggregated database files.

26 Likes

@DLu WoW! Awesome! I think this is really COOL and very useful information. I’ve seen and used metrics information published by ROSCon once a year. But now, thanks to you, we can see the information we want anytime, anywhere and compare it with previous records. It will also be a big help in choosing a development direction. I’m so happy to have a lot of information on one web page. Really, thank you so much. :+1:

1 Like

This is super cool.

Just curious. How is rank_product calculated? What does it represent?

https://metrics.ros.org/repos.html

1 Like

Every Github repo is ranked based on number of forks*, stars, and subscriptions. ros_comm for instance has 402 stars, which is the 19th most overall (which is what the 0402 (19) means). Its ranked 12th for forks and 12th for subs too. Multiply 19 * 12 * 12 and you get 2736, its rank product.

In other words, it doesn’t represent much and exact relative rankings should be taken with a grain of salt. I’m open to alternative ranking systems.