ROS2 Security Working Group Online Meeting

Hi all, I’m an engineer at Amazon working on ROS2 and wanted to get in touch with people working on SROS2 and the Crystal release of ROS2. I’ve met with a few folks in the community and want to make security intuitive, easy to configure, and performant in ROS2. There were some great talks at RosCon regarding ROS2 and security and I would like to join forces with people working on security-related items for ROS2.

Some gaps to be addressed for ROS2 Crystal:

• Secure services and parameters
  • Secure key storage
  • Automated security recommendations and configuration
  • Secure, signed configurations management
  • Auditing and logging
  • External network connectivity
  • Security best practices
  • Promoting security-driven tests

This is by no means an exhaustive list, purely just what could be the minimum bar for a system based on ROS2. I would really like to get input from folks working on security and ROS2 and want to host an online meeting on October 15th @ 17:00 PDT.

Please reply if you are interested.

• Ray Cole

It’s not realistic for ROS2 Crystal as well however worth to be considered for the long time roadmap:

• integration of fuzzy testing in to the CI environment

There is a nice read (blog post of a Security Engineer) about how to integrate public repositories into Google OSS-Fuzz (“continous open source software fuzzying as a service”) and about how to make OSS-Fuzz work for private repositories. Google tries to motivate people to integrate projects into OSS-Fuzz with patch rewards… probably an interesting model to get people like aliasrobotics.com (@EndikaGu) involved into ROS2 security improvement :wink: . However OSS-Fuzz based Fuzzy Testing addresses low levels of abstraction (source code like rclcpp, rclc, rmw) the priority in comparison to the other point in the list (higher levels of abstraction like features, “security by design”) is quite low. Nevertheless worth to being mention here I guess.