Thank You & Farewell

Hello ROS community,

I have been working on ROS for almost 9 years - shipping 15 ROS distributions - and have very much enjoyed my time on this project - the challenges as well as milestones. I am especially grateful to have seen the growing excitement and contributions over the past years.

Though I have recently accepted another opportunity and I am looking forward to the next step in my career. I will certainly miss working on ROS and with each one of you.

Please feel free to keep in touch. You can reach me here on Discourse or on GitHub.

Thank you and best regards!
- Dirk

64 Likes

Hey dirk,

Thanks for the vcstool and other amazing stuff. Have an amazing journey ahead.
Cheers …

Adwait

2 Likes

Happy for you and sad for us. You’ll be missed at Open Robotics and by all of us. I assumed you’ll be doing ROS somewhere else. Doubly sad if we’re losing you completely!

2 Likes

Thank you for making ROS possible. The community will always be grateful for your contribution. All the best for your future endaveours.

4 Likes

Dirk, from us at ROS-Industrial, and me personally, thanks for all the hard work over the years. :+1:

ROS 2 may be the future, but I’ve been glad you always cared for ROS 1 as well.

If I ever run into you, I’ll buy you a couple :beers:

Btw: I’ve searched Discourse, ros.org and the OR website, but can’t find any news about this, except your post.

6 Likes

I can’t remember how many times I’ve recommended developers I spoke with, to open pull requests to ROS core packages. One of the main reasons I recommend doing that is to get your code review @dirk-thomas (which almost never gets merged without getting kicked back N times btw). I learned a LOT from your review process about making good software, I bet many others did.

Community carries on your legacy, but you’ll be missed as the best reviewer.

7 Likes

Hey Dirk,