Time series database for ROS

Hello everyone,
I’m developing a time series database that stores a history of blob data. When I started the development I focused on computer vision applications and edge computing and had a chance to use them in some real applications. Now, I would like to try to integrate it with ROS because I feel it could be of some use in that area.
Unfortunately, I have very little experience with ROS, and before diving deeper I would like to get feedback from the community.

Could someone take a look at the project? Could it be useful? If so, what is the best way to integrate it into ROS?

Thanks!

P.S. Please don’t consider my post as self-promotion. I really want to be useful, but I’m short of time and I don’t want to waste it on solving non-existent problems.

Interesting project and I agree that ROS could benefit a lot from an easy integration with a timeseries database. To get started, I would get some sample bag files or mcap files, build the necessary ingest into your store, and then run some sample queries over them to show the value of this. Some sample bag files can be found in online robotics courses and the material from autonomous driving courses.

Question: what made you build a new timeseries DB from scratch, i.e., why are existing ones not suitable for blob storage? Have you run any comparisons to existing timeseries (e.g., Prometheus, Victoria Metrics) and column-data bases (ClickHouse, etc.)? I’d be very interested to see what sort of database might be best suited for ROS data, which can vary a lot depending on the (ros-) topic.

1 Like

Hi @chfritz, thank you for the advice. I’ll learn more about bag and mcap files.