Are there any out standing issues that need to be addressed in Software Quality of the ROS?

Would like to know if there any open issues in ROS quality that can be addressed through research.

Can you post more context here? “Research” is a pretty broad term. Also are you interested in ROS, ROS 2, ROS core packages, or other packages?

1 Like

I am more interested towards contributing to ROS and ROS2 software quality and security. So I am looking for some research gaps that already exists so that I can start contributing in that direction.

Can you provide more context to the readers? Like your background and interest? How long you plan to work on the project? What sort of experience you have with ROS? These questions are going to come up. A single line post isn’t particularly informative.

3 Likes

Actually my background is related to research in program analysis and software testing. I have recently joined a 3 years PhD programs and my topic is related to developing static analysis tools for robotics systems.

I would like to contribute and dig more into the practices that are followed to secure robotics systems that use ROS. Currently I am at beginner level and just trying to understand the literature related to ROS and ROS2 and found that there are various issues with respect to security in this area. So would like to explore these issues and provide a solution to mitigate these issues in early process of robotic system development.

2 Likes

I have a background in information security and static analysis, but my time in robotics is short.

As I see it, the main challenge to static and dynamic analysis tooling for ROS is that it uses a multi-process architecture.

No existing static analysis tool that I know of is going to be able to trace execution across a process boundary. Many of them struggle to do so across translation units.