Master thesis subject to help ROS

Hey,

I will be starting my Master thesis next month, and having a lot of possible topics. I really would love to know what is it that the ROS needs the most, as an OS for robots. That I could work on as master thesis, knowing that my masters will be in AI and Robotics.
I would love any suggestions and all help is appreciated.

3 Likes

Iā€™m in a similar position iā€™m starting a Masters project to create an autonomous drone to map out buildings using slam. As Iā€™m just starting the technology review now iā€™m finding that this project has been done at loads of institutions before and I can run the simulations in Gazebo very easiliy. What aspect of ROS did you decide to work on for your masters project?? Are you working on something that has already been done before??

Cheers
Pilk

1 Like

I am also a masters student doing work on creating things for ROS. I am working on the UI side of things. Seems like that is an area that is really lacking, especially web based systems. Does anyone else agree with this observation?

Yes, I would love a web-based RViz, rqt and other such tools fi. Not sure how suitable something like that is for a MSc (or if I even understood you correctly), but it would be very welcome (possibly connect with web-based gazebo, rwt, roslibjs, etc, etc).

1 Like

I was thinking more about thing developed to be used for your masterā€™s work. That what most of my stuff is. I am creating an autonomous agriculture rover. Most of my work is configuration and testing of already built tools. This has lead me to create new tools to reduce the complexity of developing rovers.

I just started this system a few weeks ago. It needs a lot more work but it is a start.

We have integrated rviz, rqt and the other graphical tools on the web. A video demo here.

You can use them, together with simulations, to develop ROS code, test and else here: sw.theconstructsim.com