ROS2 Hardware Selection for Beginner

Hello,
I am a complete beginner in ROS2 world and want to start a wheeled robot project to dive deep in this facinating world. From my past robot project, I realise hardware pheripherals like motor drivers, sensors etc have to be controlled by a real-time controllers like microController which is why I first planned to use Raspberry pi pico for real time operations with microROS and then add a Rpi4 to run ROS2 but unfortunately my initial attempts to setup Pi pico with miroROS failed.

As I was looking for alternate controllers to run ROS2 which is easier to learn and came across a board called “Beaglebone” which seem to have both microprocessor and PRU controllers for real time processing however I haven’t seen much on this board on ROS forum.

Any recommendations from experts on this forum on processor selection ?

2 Likes

Since, your just getting started check out Tortoisebot it’s coming complete opensource and open hardware will give you good idea about it, it supports ros and ros 2 distros

Tortoisebot.com

5 Likes

And they typically already have those built in already, all you do is interface with that microcontroller. All sensors you will use will communicate using serial, I2C or something similar. These interfaces are available on single board computers like the BeagleBone, Rock Pi (my weapon of choice) or Raspberry Pi and talk to these sensors and controllers using the standard Linux interfaces. No need for real time stuff unless you’re doing fancy things.

but unfortunately my initial attempts to setup Pi pico with miroROS failed.

Welcome to the world of robotics where things never work first shot. Come at it at another angle until it does start working.

Another suggestion to the above would be to buy a RC car and then build your electronics on top of that, if you wanted to hit the ground… rolling. Something like the Wltoys 144001 could be fun.