Advice for quadruped controller using ROS2 tools

Hello all, this is my first time posting out to the ROS community so please let me know if I miss any forum etiquette or anything like that.

I’m looking for advice and opinions on the implementation of a quadrupedal robot controller purely for my own learning. That is, I’ve already completed a quadruped robot as my capstone project during undergrad and there are things I wish I would’ve done (better) differently. I will link the archived GitHub repository just for reference in this topic.

Anyways, my previous approach was very simple, but not very reliable.

Footpath generator (not necessarily a trajectory generator!) → inverse kinematics node → serial communication node to an Arduino for hardware control. In my case, each “->” would represent a topic where data moved down the chain of command (see repo for more context).

I’ve been looking into ways I could’ve improved on this robot, and one idea I’ve considered is using the joint_trajectory_controller for the ros2_control stack. One approach would be using a chained controller in which the high level controller would take the job of my “footpath generator node” and the “inverse kinematics node”, and create trajectories for each of the four leg’s controllers to use in the joint space. The four joint trajectory controllers would ideally be synchronized, as a quadrupedal robot needs for proper balance, because they are all controlled by the footpath generator. Another, possibly simpler approach, would be to use a chainable controller, but instead of a joint trajectory controller for each leg there would be one footpath generator and one joint trajectory controller to synchronize all 12 degrees of freedom in the same trajectory.