GSoC 2020: Questions regarding project ideas

Hi MoveIt Community,
my name is Sebastian and I am highly interested in contributing to MoveIt! as part of GSoC this summer. I am studying the Master of Mechatronics and Information Technology at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology in Germany. My field of specialization is robotics.
On the MoveIt project website I saw two open future projects that draw my interest:

• Improved Integration with ROS-Controls and Controller Switching
  • Add Support for MoveIt Task Constructor to MoveIt 2
    I’d like to ask where I can get further information on both? Or what would be the appropriate way to discuss these tasks in more detail?

Furthermore, I am very interested in closed-loop control related topics. I saw on the MoveIt website at the road map for MoveIt2 that there are plans to integrate “reactive, closed-loop control” as part of the realtime support milestone.
Is there a chance to do some work on that topic as a GSoC project? I have seen that there is currently some activity in the ros2_control project and I would be interested for example in working on the implementation of an interface between ros2_control and MoveIt2. Do you guys know if that could be a possible project and if there are any mentors interested?
Thanks in advance for your help!

3 Likes

This could certainly be a project. Can you say a bit more about your prior experience with ROS/MoveIt (if any)? @AndyZe and @ct2034, do you have any advice on what this project could look like?

3 Likes

Thank you for your reply!

I have been working as a research assistant in software development for robots since 2016 and gained substantial experience in working with ROS (All projects I worked on were with ROS). Besides, I am familiar with using ros_control and developed a few custom controllers, one of those as part of my bachelor thesis.

I have some experience with MoveIt, using it in a few projects mostly with the Move Group C++ Interface.