Looking for a robotic lawn mower solution, ROS 2-powered if possible

Hello everyone,

I have recently been exploring the market of robotic lawn mowers for personal use and am in search of one that can operate autonomously, without the need for cables (with vision, LiDAR SLAM Navigation, or similar), and is capable of covering a somewhat hilly area of 1500 square meters. Although I have a fundamental understanding of the technical aspects that render a lawn mower “robotic,” my knowledge about lawn mowers in general is quite limited since I am relatively new to gardening. Hence, I thought it would be helpful to seek advice from this community.

During my research, I came across the Worx Landroid Vision L1600 WR216E, which, unfortunately, does not appear to be powered by ROS. Ideally, I would prefer a solution powered by ROS 2, as I, like many contributors here, take pride in using robots powered by ROS, a platform we have helped develop.

I have also identified a few companies specializing in this field:

• Greenzie appears to offer a compelling value proposition, but I am unsure if I fall into their target customer category since I am not looking to act as an integrator but merely as a user/consumer of a robotic solution.
  • Kingdom Technologies seems to produce ROS-based solutions, and their product appears promising. I have reached out to them for more information.
  • Scythe Robotics has a mower that caught my attention, but it seems too large for personal use and potentially too costly for an individual.
  • FloMobility advertises autonomous lawn mowers using Nav2, but I was unable to find any products available for purchase.

Additionally, I noticed several relatively recent crowdfunding campaigns, many of which appear to be using ROS, but I am somewhat overwhelmed by the options. I would greatly appreciate it if anyone could share their positive or negative experiences with robotic lawn mowers or offer any recommendations or suggestions.

Thanks,

10 Likes