BennyBot build... an autonomous bot to deliver my garbage to the curb

Hi all,

I’m new to ROS and using a simple domestic “problem” as a platform to build a robot from the ground up while I learn ROS and robotics in general.

I have a formal background in electronics, plus 15+ years building business applications, and I also have a lot of mechanical and fabrication background… so, I thought robotics would be a fun way to put all these skills together… and presumably I will find some opportunities somewhere along the way to make this somewhat profitable.

BennyBot… which is just a play on my last name (Benson)… is (going to be) an autonomous platform that will find my garbage bin, load it up, transport it to the end of my driveway and drop it off at the curb on collection day, then go retrieve the empty bin after it’s been emptied. Every second week, it will do the same with the compost bin.

I’m still very early stages, but I have some of the mechanical, electronic, and ROS nodes operational… the mechanical and electronics are relatively easy for me… ROS is my learning curve, but it’s all making sense so far.

I am using one (or more) raspberryPi 3 SBCs, one Arduino, two Dimension Engineering 2x32 Sabertooth motor controllers with Kangaroo X2 PID controllers, 4 AndyMark PG71 gear motors, a single RPLidar A2 scanner, some sort of IMU (currently experimenting with an LSM9DS1 from SparkFun), and probably a 3d camera, and maybe a GPS for fun.