Using ROS for simulating autonomous RC cars?

Hi,
I’m a student at University of Oslo, working on robotics and electronics, and also a professional IT consultant and C# programmer for the last 12 years.

As a hobby I dabble with autonomous RC cars; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5gDd7GlaQIo

I have had very basic introduction to ROS in one of the classes in university, but would like to learn more about ROS. More specifically I’d like to use ROS as a simulation environment for simulating and improving the driving algorithms seen in the YouTube video above.

I’d like to ask you for some advice on what part of ROS I should look into, and if this is a valid platform for doing this kind of stuff. I’ve seen that there is something called Gazebo which can be used together with ROS to run simulations. Would it be possible to recreate something like the racing track from the YouTube video above in Gazebo?

The cars typically use IR sensors to detect the walls, and perhaps use gyro/accelerometers for motion detection. Is is possible to simulate those kind of sensors in a virtual environment using ROS and Gazebo?

Are there any other modules etc related to ROS that I should look into?

Thanks!

1 Like

First, welcome to the ROS community @FrodeL!
Secondly, I’d just like to suggest if you have specific questions about ROS, then the Q/A stack-exchange format on answers.ros.org may be better sutted. The discourse site here is geared towards open discussions, but as you post is sort of both, I’ll go ahead and share some relevant sources here.

Personally i’m also interested in the same topic, including aerial RCs. For ground scale models you should check out the work being done at IRIM, Georgia Tech with the project called Autorally: