VSLAM + ROS2 + Innovation

Hello everyone,

My name is Alex, and alongside my work in the industry, I am pursuing a Ph.D. in Robotics/Computer Vision at a Brazilian university.

We are working on an autonomous vessel project, a USV (Unmanned Surface Vehicle). I am currently dedicated to implementing VSLAM (Visual Simultaneous Localization and Mapping) for the boat, which is currently a sailboat but could potentially be another type of vessel, such as a catamaran.

I need your help. I am looking for a scientific contribution that my work could address. If anyone is an expert in the field of VSLAM applied to USV or has experience in this area, could you please provide insights on where you think we can improve upon the current solutions available in ROS (Robot Operating System) and how this could be an innovation?

The idea is to create something new and contribute for ROS community.

Thank you,
Alex

VSLAM on the water? That sounds hard. I’m no expert on VSLAM, but doesn’t it rely on identifying visual features that can be recognized between frames? On the water, you wouldn’t expect many such features to exist, especially since the water itself keeps moving, too, no?

1 Like

Additionally, one usually has optimal conditions for GNSS (aka GPS) on the water. Short outages can be easily bridged by coupling with an IMU.

1 Like

I agree. Perhaps they are assuming the vessel will be in clear or shallow water, and then perform VSLAM on the sea/lake bed below? Or they are navigating rivers/waterways, where there are constant nearby landmarks on the shore. But even still, this seems challenging (for the reasons you’ve mentioned, but also because of the up-and-down bobbing of the camera). It’s also not clear what advantages this offers over GPS+RTK: if you’re on the water, you’ve got a great line-of-sight to satellites basically all the time.