What is the convenience of building a system based on micro-ros compared to not using micro-ros?

Hi, I am a newbie to ROS, so please forgive me for my inexperience.
My previous experience is focused in Arduino, and now I am developing a “turtlebot” like robot based on ESP32-S3. I have been learning ROS2 and Micro-ros for some time, but still rather confused.
What is the convenience of building a system based on Micro-ROS compared to not using Micro-ROS? What are my reasons for using Micro-ROS if ROS is not required for the project?

Also, I am confused about the use of rviz2, which seems to require me to write my own node for converting TF information, which seems rather cumbersome.
If you guys have proper tutorials, I would be very interested to know.

Thanks guys!

1 Like

I can explain to you the “rviz2” part. Usually, when you have differential drive robot you can use “DiffDriveController” from ros2_control which calculates kinematics so you can command robot in Cartesian space and publishes joint_state and odometry to simplify visualization in rviz2. You should use “robot_description” and “robot_state_publisher” for this.

Helpful documentation about setting your robot is provided by Navigation2. Even if you don’t do navigation, the first part of the tutorial is helpful for controlling and visualizing the robot.

2 Likes

Thanks a lot. I’m going to check it out.

Hi @zzMiao123,

What is the convenience of building a system based on Micro-ROS compared to not using Micro-ROS?
If you work with embedded and ROS 2, then micro-ROS is required.

What are my reasons for using Micro-ROS if ROS is not required for the project?
No reasons if you dont want to use ROS 2, since micro-ROS is the extension of ROS 2 for microcontrollers.

Please, take a look at

I hope this helps you.

1 Like

Thanks maria,
I have staring at this web for several times :rofl: