Short-term WG about URDF / description formats

Dear ROS Community,

Some days ago, we had a discussion (URDF improvements) about URDF and other description formats. As @peci1 requested, it could be convenient to bring this topic to the TSC, but before that, I think we need a consensus among experts and interested parts. I think there were different opinions in that thread and no conclusions.

I propose to organize a short-term working group to try to have a consensus about this topic. I am not an expert in URDF, but as a community rep, I will organize this working group and bring any conclusion to TSC. I would like to involve experts such as @Daniella1, @peci1, @olivier.michel, @clalancette, @traversaro, @gavanderhoorn, @kisg, @ahcorde, @davetcoleman, @jrivero, and many other people from the community that would like to participate.

I propose to start with this ST-WG the next week. This is the meeting info:
ST-WG WG about URDF / description formats
2023-04-20T17:30:00Z (1 hour)
Link to the meeting: https://meet.google.com/vqv-qevq-krr

I hope to see the interested people there!!

Best
Francisco

10 Likes

I would say that you should include @azeey and @scpeters. They are the SDFormat maintainers

1 Like

Yes!! Please, name in this thread to everyone who you think can contribute to the discussion.

As a reminder, you should submit this to the events calendar

Thanks a lot for organizing this, Francisco! I’ll try to be there, although the time is a bit difficult for me.

Don’t think this got added to the calendar yet.

I added it to the official OSRF calendar.

PLEASE USE THE HANGOUT LINK IN THIS POST

Thanks a lot for organizing this @fmrico !

I would be interested in the WG as well. I am using the formal URDF model as the backbone of the kinematics IDE I am working on: Desktop and Web based textual and graphical toolchain for kinematics modeling.mp4 on Vimeo