Interest for a ROS2 Study and Robotics Concepts group (free)

Hi robotics enthusiastics! Is there any interest for a ROS2 Study and Robotics Concepts group (free)? There are so many opportunities to learn and work on ROS1 projects, but there are less for ROS2. Also, most learning platforms teach only basic concepts like topics, nodes, publishers/subscribers, services and omit totally navigation, manipulation, perception, AI and DevOps concepts, which are essential in robotics and research. Furthermore, most of them utilize Python, which is suitable for non real-time applications and rapid prototyping. Therefore, the group would focus on both Python and C++.

The requirements to participate, would be to have some basic knowledge in ROS1 or/and ROS2 and some practical experience with gazebo and RViz. This doesn’t mean that someone has to be an advanced or expert in ROS (I am also not an expert), but he/she should have some experience with the robotics framework. For example, someone could have gained knowledge from the ROS tutorial ROS 2 Documentation — ROS 2 Documentation: Foxy documentation, or has worked out a course like the Hello (Real) World with ROS from EDX (very good to get some practical experience in ROS1 and basic robotics concepts). In addition, it would be nice if the members have some basic experience with platforms like GitHub or Bitbucket for future project contributions.

To sum up, the group would focus on ROS2 and robotics concepts, but also on advanced topics like humanoid robots, mobile manipulators, robot fleets, drones and web interfaces. It wouldn’t be a group for people who don’t have any experience in ROS and programming. The members could communicate with each other for example via discord or slack.

10 Likes

Really excited for this learning group. May I know how I can join the same?

1 Like