Roomac - general-purpose personal robot (construction + fetch a bottle demo application)

Hi everyone,

I’m happy to share the project that I’ve been working on for the past 3 years. Roomac is a low-cost autonomous mobile manipulation robot that consists of a differential drive mobile base and a 5-DoF manipulator with a gripper. The costs of the whole construction summed up to around 550$ and using this platform I was able to prepare a proof-of-concept application - fetching a bottle to the user. Below you can see a gif of the robot (and here you can watch the full demo).

roomac_manipulation_navigation

Software is based on ROS Melodic, I used many ROS packages, some of them are RTABMap, move_base (with TEB as a local planner), robot_localization, MoveIt with BioIKKinematics (robot’s arm has 5DoF and only with BioIK I was able to achieve desired positions), ar_track_alvar.

Working with cheap components was quite a challenge and I’m still amazed that it was possible to configure TEB to smoothly control the drill motors that I used in the base. Overall I worked on this project alone, and it is awesome, what is possible to achieve using ROS, even without a large budget.

Most of the construction was 3D printed, the base consists of DC drill motors, encoders, IMU and STM32BluePill MCU. In the manipulator there are 6 servos: 3 XYZrobot A1-16 and 3 cheaper TowerPro (MG996R and 2xSG-92R) which are controlled by the second STM32BluePill. To detect obstacles and create a map of the environment I used Kinect (the one from Xbox360). The second Kinect is mounted above the table and it is used for the manipulation (robot’s position is detected using ARTags). Navigation computations are run on the laptop placed in the base of the robot.

If you’re interested in this project, you can check out the Github repository and my master’s thesis, which describes it in much more detail.