The DDS Race: what we've seen so far

Hello everyone!

My name is Felipe, I’m a mechatronics engineering student and I’m writing an article about ROS 2 messaging performance and in the process I spent some time to understand the evolution steps that brought us to where we are. It may be called “The DDS Wars” or “DDS Cambrian Explosion”, I personally prefer “The DDS Race” as it moves us forward as the Space Race but with no nuclear threat, the truth is a lot already happend and one may get lost on the way.

I’m trying to build a timeline of events and would love to hear from you if I’m missing something. To the best of my knowledge, this recolection of events wasn’t done before, so I believe it is a small contribution to the community.

As stated in the ROS 2 design docs one of the objectives of creating the ROS Middleware Interface (RMW) is to seamslly support different DDS implementations. At the time of ROS 2 Ardent release, 3 different DDS implementations where supported, as shown in REP-2000: Fast-RTPS, Connext DDS and OpenSplice, being Fast-RTPS the default one. The support for 3 different DDS providers in the first ROS 2 release arguably shows that the intentions of RMW creation where successful.

The major change in this scenario came in the end of 2019 with the introduction of Cyclone DDS and the subsequent announcement that OpenSplice Community development efforts would migrate to the Cyclone DDS project. As REP-2000 shows again, from ROS 2 Bouncy until Eloquent, 4 DDS providers were supported, the same 3 from Ardent plus the young Cyclone DDS. Fast-RTPS and Connext DDS received Tier 1 support and OpenSplice and Cyclone DDS received Tier 2 support